• Built for Mars
  • Posts
  • BFM #67: The billion dollar missed opportunity 🍿

BFM #67: The billion dollar missed opportunity 🍿

Zara: a borderline unusable experience, littered with bugs and full of missed opportunities.

Hey 👋 

Zara, the $60bn a year eCommerce giant, has a website so inaccessible that people speculate it’s intentionally terrible, in order to drive people into their physical stores.

Whilst I love the drama, I doubt it’s true.

Zara should have a product team obsessively optimising, experimenting on, and seeking feedback about their entire checkout process.

Instead, it’s borderline unusable, littered with bugs and full of missed opportunities.

Let me show you the most asymmetric investment in eCommerce.

As always, thank you for reading.

It helps for deliverability if you reply (i.e., it tells your inbox that I’m not spam), so why not tell me what you thought? Or send me a meme.

Also, as you may have seen the other day, I released a paid product called BFM+, designed for product builders and product teams.

The coupon (earlyspacebird) which gets you 25% off for life, expires December 1st (in 8 days).

After that I don’t plan on doing any deals or discounts, other than educational and parity pricing. It always annoys me when I pay full price for something days before it goes on sale.

- Peter✌️

📈 Oh, and I still do UX audits—it’s how I keep learning.